Monochrome Monday #5

I am totally on top of things this week, especially now that things have finally started settling down, so I have a brand new Monochrome Monday for you! Yay! And as I said in the last real MM post, we’re about to embark on a different journey from before and focus more on portraits. Truthfully, I am really excited about this because black and white portraits are some of my favorites to photograph, and sure enough, I get to present to you the first of those today!

Today we will be looking at a piece I like to call Let Me Do Me.

Taken at the end of summer 2010, Let Me Do Me is a representation of the motto that my friend (and model of this photo) Mary Jane lives by. The photo was taken in Nashville’s Centennial Park on a small rock wall/crevice in the botanical garden.

What I love most about this photo is the tender expression on MJ’s face as well as her body placement. She looks calm and comfortable in her own skin which is exactly what her motto is about. So often people feel like they have to please everyone around them (in terms of beauty or educational choices, etc.), but when push comes to shove, we don’t really have to answer to anyone else but ourselves. Mary Jane is aware of that, so she lives by the statement “let me do me” in which she wants to be respected for who she is and what she stands for.

Being comfortable with what you stand for in life is the best way to live. Everything about this picture shows comfort and confidence in life and who the model is/chooses to be. And that’s why Let Me Do Me is today’s Monochrome Monday.

Leave a Reply

