Monochrome Monday #6

For your viewing pleasure: a brand new Monochrome Monday! And obviously I have internet again. Trust me; being without internet is extremely difficult when you’re so used to having internet access all the time. But worry not your pretty little heads; it’s Monday and I’ve got some good stuff for you…I think… 😀

This week’s MM features my friend Skye in probably one of the best portraits I have ever taken. Now don’t read that as conceit or haughtiness. In all honesty, I know there are hundreds of thousands of portraits that are better than this one, but for an amateur photographer like myself who just takes pictures because I enjoy it, I think this photo deserves some merit.

Simply entitled Skye, this piece, taken during summer 2010, actually means a lot to me which may sound a little weird. Well, let me explain. I’ve been friends with Skye for years now, almost 10 to be exact. And in just 10 years, we’ve been through a lot, together and apart. It’s not easy to think about the hardships that we as humans have to go through on a day-to-day basis, and between the two of us, Skye and I have gone through more than most young females.

Given that we’re only just entering young adulthood and in college and discovering our passions and making decisions about our futures and what not, we’ve also had to mature faster than most of our friends. Not everything has been handed to us on a silver platter like a lot of people we know. It’s not easy dealing with adoption and divorce or death of parents at young ages and depression. It’s not easy handling a younger sister suffering from cerebral palsy or staring into the faces of failed relationships (or not experiencing relationships at all). No, that’s not easy.

But here’s the catch: despite all of the pain and turmoil of such tragic situations, how many people do you know who have handled those situations with the grace and poise of a ballerina in the spotlight? Dedication and hope has fueled our friendship and that is exactly why this photo means so much. Despite what I’ve just said, notice that Skye is smiling in this photo. And she couldn’t look any happier than she does in this piece. How is it that someone who has experienced so much negativity can remain so positive? How is it that someone who has had a lot in their life to frown about can choose to smile instead? Maybe it’s the discipline she has as a dancer or the fact that there’s always hope that things will get better.

But whatever the reason, she chooses to smile. And I’m hoping you’ll do the same. Think of it as a type of poetic expression and a way for you to feel better about any situation you’re in. No matter what you’re going through whether it’s the loss of a loved one or something as small as just having an off-day, remember to look for the beautiful things in life. Remember that things can and will get better. Remember to handle things with as much grace and poise as you can. And remember to smile. If Skye and I can do it, then I bet you can, too. And that’s why Skye is today’s Monochrome Monday.

Leave a Reply

