Monochrome Monday #7

So it’s a little late, but I’m going to post anyway. Also, I want to throw it out there that I am not going to be posting a new self-portrait today because I didn’t get around to taking one. Anyway. Today’s MM will revert back to still-lifes. Why? Because I did a little photography recently and felt like sharing my findings. So let’s take a look.

I don’t quite have a working title for this piece yet because it is so new to my portfolio. But you can still take a little time to admire it.

When you look at a bench up close, what do you see? A place to sit? A hang out spot? Relaxation? Just a bench? When I see a bench, I see all of these things. I see a place to sit down and chat with my friends. I see a place to rest after walking around campus in the hot sun. From the cracks in the wood to the craftsmanship of the rails, this is truly a work of art with all of its many functions. You may not think so, but I do. And for a photo taken at the spur of the moment after dinner one day last month, I think this bench says a lot. And that’s why this piece is today’s Monochrome Monday.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brad Brown
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 10:28:08

    Your photos are going up on my wall…if that is okay with you.

    Reply

  2. Meri
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 11:21:11

    I love photographs where the subject is something we see every day but the photographer takes the picture from an unexpected angle or at close range and the object turns into art. You’ve done that here and it is beautiful I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

