Monochrome Monday #9

Howdy. It’s Monday which means I owe you wonderful readers a post. And that’s exactly what you’re going to get. After much debate about what photo I would use today (only, it wasn’t really a debate; I just like exaggerating), I have settled on one that I like enough to share with you. (Note: I am really trying to stall getting to my favorite black and white photo. So I’m just building anticipation with these Monochrome Monday posts every week. It can only get better from here, right? Of course.) So here we go.

I like to call the following piece The Offering of the Fortune. Why? Because you will notice the little token being held in my model’s hand which reads “Fortune Token.” Clever right?

I wish I could take credit for the set up of this shot, but I can’t. There are very few times when I am perfectly content with this particular model/friend pictured above being overly dramatic, and luckily for her, this is one of those times. Sure, she was being ridiculously over the top (as usual), acting like the representations of models you tend to see in really cheesy movies, but for once, it wasn’t problematic to me as a photographer simply because of the results. This is one of those results.

Taken during summer 2010, the idea behind this shoot was fashion (as is basically everything I did that summer). Julie’s chosen style: grunge. Aside from wanting to capture the “angst” of the late 80s/90s, Julie was just amazing at being dramatic. And that’s not a bad thing. Like I said, it got me the above photo.

Again, I wish I could take more credit for this, but I really can’t. Julie brought the drama. Julie brought the token. And because I hate directing people when it comes to my photo shoots (I am so the “au naturale” type), all I told Julie was to do whatever she liked (though now I tell her to do that but not change poses every second). And she did this.

Maybe it’s the graffiti or the expression or the fact that she’s trying to offer the viewer something. I’m not entirely sure, but still, I like this photograph. In all honesty, I think it says something about Julie’s character. Yeah, she’s a little crazy at times (read, most of the time), but she means well (some of us have come to accept it as “Julie just being Julie”), and she wants to give anyone who crosses her path the chance to see that. She offers people good fortune with the desire that they see her and her well-meaning and grab that opportunity.

Is that considered dramatic? If you know Julie, then yes; yes, it is. But it still produces interesting results, no? And that’s why The Offering of the Fortune is today’s Monochrome Monday.

Leave a Reply

