Monochrome Monday #12 (Part 1)

Happy rainy, dreary Monday! Despite the fact that I still had class today (because I, sadly, attend an institution that doesn’t believe in canceling classes on Labor Day), I’m still enjoying this cooler weather and rain. It should also be noted that I am being a good blogger and actually posting. However, today’s Monochrome Monday is going to be a little different from what we’re typically accustomed to. Today’s MM explores a different sort of monochromy, one that isn’t simply black and white. I present to you the For Colored Girls photo shoot:

As I mentioned in my last post, I was able to go home for a weekend at the beginning of August. And as is typical of my hometown adventures, I had to have a photo shoot.

The theme: Monochromy.

What do I mean by that? It’s simple really. When a person thinks of the word ‘monochrome,’ one usually thinks of black and white. But with a little help from Michelle, we took that one step further. Instead of just black/white, I had my models choose a color that they felt represented them emotionally, spiritually, whatever and told them to wear only that color in various tints and shades. Being forced to wear only one color gave the monochromatic effect (this was the product of a whole 6 weeks spent discussing color theory in theatre production plus my intense desire to work for Crayola).

Why would I choose to do something like that? Well, for starters, I wanted a change of pace in my photography. Typically I focus on the more fashionable aspect of photography, but because I decided to dedicate my summer to expanding my photography, this was a great place to start. I could still do portraits (because that is my strength), but there would be a small change: how does color affect our perceptions of ourselves? How does color define us, not necessarily in terms of skin, but emotionally, psychologically, etc? [Deep? I know.]

I found this shoot to be a learning experience. Color is everywhere in everything. It expresses how awkward and outstandingly quirky we are:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It captures our innocence and purity:

Color is subtle and dignified:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It keeps us down to Earth and connected to nature:

But most of all, color keeps us grounded in all that is classy, reminding us to maintain the heart of a child and remain playful and content even when life has us stressed out:

Without color, what kind of pathetic, lifeless world would we be forced to live in?

Leave a Reply

