Monochrome Monday #13

Finally! Another Monochrome Monday! It’s been so long. I’ve missed explaining my works. So with that being said, check out today’s MM below:

Keeping with this weekend’s theme of…well…Felicita, I present the following (brand spanking new) piece entitled Public Service Announcement.

Now why in the world would I bother to call it that? Well, let’s take it back to about 15 or so minutes prior to the taking of this very photo and set the scene: It’s Saturday. The sun is shining, about 60 degrees out, pretty darn windy. We’re on our way to the train tracks, and in doing so, we just happen to be on the route that takes us by the community park. What do we see? A huge yard sale/clothing drive of sorts raising money and items for breast cancer awareness. There are clothes and toys and a bunch of random items all under one decent sized picnic area.

We eventually reach our destination, and after a small photo excursion in a construction site (which I’m fairly certain was filled with radioactive bio-hazardous material [hope we don’t die…hope we do get mega-awesome mutant super powers like the X-Men]), we come across the above site. Cardboard boxes filled with toys and clothes and Christmas decorations (which you can’t actually see, but they were there) surrounded by trash and dirt and a giant gasoline tank.

Who just dumps that kind of thing on the side of train tracks?

I felt as if there was something extremely wrong with that given that poverty is as realistic an issue as the growing number of popstars in the U.S. who lack natural talent. It exists, and there’s no denying it. I would know. Felicita spent the first 12 years of her life in poverty in her native Guatemala. I would know. My father went bankrupt trying to care for me and my brothers before his death when I was a child. My family struggles to pay bills every month and put food on the table. (Contributing to my choice to attend a college that pays my tuition for me and considers poverty as part of its application/acceptance criterion.) Grant it, I have it better than the millions of people who live without food, clothing, and shelter in the U.S. (Check out the Occupy movement. Wall Street, Lexington, EVERYWHERE.) I have it better than the billions of people living in lesser developed nations who don’t even have clean water to drink.

Yet people have the audacity to take boxes of (presumably) usable items such as toys and books and clothes and just leave them to potentially biodegrade on the side of some train tracks…

I see this photo as a public service announcement. It’s littering, just leaving what someone sees as useless junk on the side of the road. Thank you for polluting the planet even more than it already is. It’s selfish, just leaving what someone sees as useless junk on the side of the road. Thank you for not donating those items to someone who would love to have clothes to wear and books to read and toys to play with.

I say all of this just to feel guilty that I left it there despite how upset it made me deep down. I had no car, so I couldn’t load it up and take it back to the park. There were no trash cans around for me to throw the trash away in. So there it will sit until something or someone comes along and does something with it. Considering that area as a whole, it’ll be there for a while.

So take this PSA: Do something good for someone else. Don’t throw your trash on the ground and abandon it. Remember that one man’s “trash” is another man’s treasure.

And that’s why Public Service Announcement is today’s Monochrome Monday.

Leave a Reply

