Monochrome Monday #14 (Pre-Halloween Special)

The countdown to Halloween has begun! (Well, for me, it started a few weeks ago…) With exactly ONE week left until my 2nd favorite day of the year, I’ve decided that it is only fitting to get (even more) into the Halloween spirit with this week’s Monochrome Monday.

As aforementioned, Halloween is one of my favorite days of the year. I mean, who doesn’t enjoy dressing up in cool costumes and shoving candy down one’s throat? (Ok. I actually know quite a few people who don’t enjoy that, but they are party poopers. So they don’t count.) But when I’m not shopping for Halloween decorations or dancing to Thriller and The Monster Mash, I’m taking pictures. And today’s MM is a little haunting. Consider the following:

I’m more than aware that this is NOT my best work. In fact, this actually stemmed from a mini photo shoot that I had with the above model (Susan) way back in summer 2010. (Wow…that was forever ago when I stop to think about it…) If you can think back to one of my first posts on this blog, I mentioned the dinky Olympus I used to have. This is one of the products of that camera. (So we’re talking about some pretty low quality.)

That, however, does not stop this picture from being any less creepy. Why do I find this photo, entitled The Haunting, so…? I don’t even know the word for it. I guess I’d say “appropriate for Halloween.” Well, let’s start with the dead appearance. Susan looks dead in this photo. Let’s focus on the face. Her eyes alone make it look like she lacks eyeballs (the reasoning behind this is simple: her dark makeup paired with the fact that her eyes were closed). Her body seems to be glowing as if she’s some other worldly being or possibly possessed, you choose. Add to all of that the flowing hair and the Roman stone benches, and you get the perfect mythological (ancient Chinese) goddess or something. It’s very fitting for Halloween if you ask me.

I am more than excited for all the crazy fun stuff I have planned for this pre-Halloween week; and I hope that your week leading to one of the most amazingly fun days of the year is just as wonderful. So go to a haunted house, tune in to ABC Family’s 13 Nights of Halloween, and of course, eat your weight in sweet sugary goodness (Charlie the Unicorn)! Oh, and keep coming back to the blog for more amazing Monochrome Mondays and other posts!

Leave a Reply

