Photography Hiatus

Dear Faithful Readers,

It is with much sadness that I inform you that as of today, I will be on a leave of absence from my photography. I am going to be on hiatus for a little while for various reasons including, but not limited to:

  • Having a ton of work to do as I near the end of the semestertwo research papers (in two completely different citation formats) due on the exact same day does not bode well when I only have two weeks or so left to complete them and I haven’t really started on them (I lack motivation to read all the articles I’ve gotten to write the papers). Add two other major assignments for my other classes and you get my life (aka: no life).
  • Feeling completely spent – when everyone is asking to have their photos done (for free, mind you), you start to wonder why in the world you chose a hobby that you can be paid for but aren’t being paid for. Is it worth it? On any other given day, the answer to that question would be yes without any doubt; but today, the answer is no. When every weekend is being devoted to meeting people’s expectations and constantly being pestered by new people to take their pictures and edit/upload them in the most impossible amount of time, you eventually want to throw in the towel and say, “Screw it. I’m taking a break.” Not to say that I don’t like taking photos and providing that service for people because I love it, and I love getting the practice. But I also like not feeling overwhelmed by my attempts to meet other people’s demands.
  • Feeling used – along those same lines, a girl can only take so much, “Hey, Rhonda! Can you take pictures for me,” and then leave it at that. Very little thanks and no compensation are not my ideas of proper payment. Heck, I don’t want the money; I want the simple gratification of having done a good job and being appreciated for that. Taking my work and not giving me credit for it is not appreciation.
  • Not having any me-time – those lazy days spent laying in my bed, ignoring the world and watching football? Yeah, I want those days back. My sleeping/dietary patterns have suffered because of how much I’ve been pushing myself lately. I’m constantly moving during the week from class to class and then to work and convocations and meetings and the library. Saturdays and Sundays are the only days that truly belong to me, and I spend half of that time meeting other people’s demands instead of meeting my own which simply includes my body’s request to lay on my bed and catch up with my brain. A reasonable request that is all too often denied.

Am I afraid of becoming rusty? Sure. The way things are looking now, I’m looking at being away for at least two weeks to a month or two, possibly longer given certain circumstances. Am I going to crave photography while I’m on hiatus? Of course. I always do because I enjoy it so much. Am I going to have a hard time saying no to people who ask me to do a session for them? Probably. Like I said, I can always use the practice. And I hate telling people no, especially when I’ve said yes to so many others. But I also know when I need to stop for a while, and this is one of those times.

I hope you all understand that I really need this. It sucks because I love taking pictures, but I’m drowning in life’s crushing tsunami and I need to focus on ending this semester on as good a note as possible. But I promise I’ll be back. And when I return, I hope you all will be right here waiting to continue my photographic journey with me.

Sincerely,

Rhonda

Leave a Reply

