Thanksgiving Special

Hello, everyone. Today is Thanksgiving, and once again, I find myself acting as adults do and making sacrifices. And by sacrifices, I really mean spending my Thanksgiving break all by my lonesome on campus. As an RA, somebody has to work, so I made the sacrifice and took the job. For some reason, this year seems slightly more depressing than last year because at least last year, there were about 20 people still in the dorm out of 100. This year, there are a total of 5 girls left out of 70. So you can imagine how absolutely bored I have been for the past few days. But considering the events of this week up until this point, a little boredom is slightly useful.

On Monday, I experienced my first ever true state of emergency. An active shooter near campus put a major damper on the activities of the College. Classes and labor were suspended until about 3 p.m. as the police throughout most of the state of Kentucky were on call trying to catch the guy. The sad part: the perpetrator was a former employee of the College. The victims (the one who was killed, the one who was injured, and the one who was unscathed courtesy of his friends) were all former/current students. You never know what life will bring, but I can truly admit to being thankful that I and my friends are safe. It hurts to know that so many of my friends were affected by the loss of one of their loved ones, but even I know what it feels like to lose someone you love. Not through murder, but a loss is a loss. But because of Monday’s events, it made me realize the things that I am thankful for:

I’m thankful for my family. That’s my father pictured below. Sure, he’s no longer living (that loss aforementioned? He’s part of it), but he taught me a lot in the seven years I got to spend with him. Being the youngest and only girl has its perks. That kind of life comes with a bunch of brothers who constantly look after me. They’re always doing stuff for me and giving me things (like the camera I use for my photography). My family comes with tons of cousins who threaten to beat up boys who break my heart. I have uncles who occasionally tell me that I’m pretty and will make a beautiful bride one day, and I have aunts who, though hard at times, admit that they really are proud of me. I don’t always tell them I love them. I don’t always tell them that I appreciate all they’ve done for me, but I do love and appreciate them.

I’m thankful for my surrogate mother. I’d post a picture of her, but I’m fairly certain she’d kill me the next time she saw me. She may not think she’s beautiful, but I do, both inside and out. Over 7 years later, and things have changed. Up until Monday, I hadn’t talked to her in three months. I hardly ever see her. Our lives aren’t as intertwined as they were when I was in high school. Heck, our lives aren’t as linked as they were two years ago when I first started college. But some things will never change. I’ll never stop caring about what she thinks. I’ll never stop striving to make her proud of me. And she’ll never stop loving me (no matter how worried I may get). Any feelings of abandonment or fear of being forgotten are never even worth it because when push comes to shove, some things just never change. All the sarcasm, reassurance that I’m not a failure at life, and hours spent listening to NPR’s Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me!...I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’m thankful for my friends. I haven’t had too much of a social life this semester thanks to school, but for the friends I have gotten a chance to hang out with or talk to, they have been a driving force behind my desire to keep going. They make me laugh, they watch me cry, they listen when I vent. We go on insane adventures in rain, sun, or snow. We party hard (sans alcohol). We create spectacular memories. My friends are ridiculous in the best way possible.

I’m thankful for a lot of other things. Being able to get an education (despite my current disposition which is causing me to strongly lean towards dropping out or at least take a semester/year off), having the ability to work for my money. I can eat, sleep, breathe, wear clean clothes, walk, talk, live a more privileged life than billions of people in the world. That’s something worth being thankful for.

And I’m thankful for getting the opportunity to write this blog. Sometimes I don’t feel like a talented photographer, but I enjoy it. And I’m thankful for the ability to have this hobby. I have good equipment and willing models. I couldn’t imagine my life without this experience. So with that, as I spend this day on my own as an adult, bored out of my mind and cooking for myself, I wish you all the very best Thanksgiving ever. Thanks for being such spectacular followers. Don’t eat too much, and try not to get trampled to death during your Black Friday shopping (I’ll be sleeping because waking up at ungodly hours to spend more money than I actually have seems like a rather dumb idea what with me being a poor college student and all – never mind the fact that I will be rolling in dough after this break since I’m working all week).

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. April Snodgrass
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 13:48:20

    You are totally right…I would have killed you and I will always love you. :0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

