Modern Winter Fairy Tale (Part 1)

Hello there. I hope this finds you in good spirits. It’s time, yet again, for me to divulge my inner thoughts concerning my photography. Since it’s December and a winter wonderland is bound to occur at some point, I figure it’s about time to unveil a photo collaboration that I did with my friend Ashton last winter. We decided to take theme shoots to a whole new level with our Winter Fairy Tale shoot. We modernized the theme by allowing our models to choose their fairy tale characters (or letting Ashton dictate their roles, whichever) and giving them the opportunity to put a contemporary spin on things. Below is part one of the creative result of placing fairy tales into a modern societal context:

Dorothy (The Wizard of Oz)

My friend Charlotte has been gaining prominence in many of my photo shoots. She is just one of those people who has natural photogenic ability, and she’s also a ton of fun to hang out with during photo sessions. For this session, Charli gave her modern interpretation of Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.

What I love so much about Charli’s interpretation of Dorothy is that she looks so young just like Dorothy. She maintains the basic appearance like the pigtails and childlike insecurity (I love facial expressions), but then Charli incorporates the more contemporary aspects of her outfit of choice. Plaid shirt and denim skirt, and of course the red sneakers to represent the red slippers. She even has the basket. The only thing missing is Toto and Dorothy’s traveling companions easing on down the yellow brick road in search of the Wiz (because I personally feel as if The Wiz is a million times more entertaining than The Wizard of Oz, and it’s not just because I’m African-American).

Robin Hood

I have guy friends, but most of them would never be the people to indulge in free photos whilst submitting to my artistic urges. So I don’t film guys often unless, of course, they are people like Corey, a person who is always willing to have his picture taken. He wasn’t entirely certain what character he should be, but I think his very simplistic modernization of Robin Hood was pretty awesome.

I always enjoyed watching Robin Hood when I was younger. And there’s just something about the rustic feel of these photos that brings back some of those memories I have of wanting to live out in the woods stealing money from the 1% to give to the 99% (and there is the extent of my current event knowledge). Corey doesn’t really seem like the bandit type, but I will admit that he pulled it off pretty well, despite how  fashionable he chose to be in the process.

Gretel (Hansel and Gretel)

The story of Hansel and Gretel was not particularly my favorite though I will admit that at one point in my life, I thought a house made of candy was the greatest thing ever (though the ants must have been terrible). But there was really nothing else intriguing about the story to me. Cannibalistic witches were not my idea of cool (though now I would beg to differ because I am friends with some very demented authors, so things like spoons being used to scoop out eyeballs and cannibals are commonplace in my chosen forms of literature now). But I still think Victoria did a good job of bringing Gretel to life in our contemporary society.

So maybe we didn’t have a house full of confectionery perfection. And maybe Gretel was a little lost without her brother Hansel. But then again, have you ever seen a house made of sweets? Because I’m serious, the ants would be a pain in the butt. And if the cannibalistic witch wasn’t able to get a hold of Hansel and Gretel, the ants most definitely would.

TO BE CONTINUED…

(Oh, and if you want to check out the photos that Ashton took during the shoot, you can check them out on her Flickr page!)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: One Year, One Million Dreams And Counting (Anniversary Special) « McClish Photography Studios

Leave a Reply

