Modern Winter Fairy Tale (Part 2)

Hey-o. It’s finals week. I still have two exams left despite the fact that finals started 2 days ago. I don’t know how I got stuck with the worst exam schedule ever, but it’s not like it matters much since I have to stay on-campus until Saturday thanks to my job, so it’s all good.

When I last left you, I was discussing the winter fairy tale photo collaboration I did with my friend Ashton way back in January. Last time we covered Dorothy, Robin Hood, and Gretal. Today, we’re wrapping things up with the last three fairy tales represented during the shoot. So please, sit back and enjoy giving yourself over to pure fantastical splendor…

Beauty and the Beast

This is the one I’m confused about. It may be because Kate is a blond when Belle is obviously a brunette, or maybe it’s because Stephen is the furthest thing from emo, but that’s what Ashton chose for him. Ashton made this part her special project, so I kind of just went with it. But I suppose that since Disney’s Beauty and the Beast is a love story, it only makes sense that our group’s star couple should fulfill this role.

If there is anything that I genuinely like about these images it’s that you can see the chemistry between Kate and Stephen. This is how they interact with one another. It’s just a natural thing. Take away the emo facade and you get their average relationship, one spent together in a fantasy world where no one else exists and no one can bring them down.

Megara (Hercules)

I love Hercules, and I love Meg. For starters, Disney created a leading lady who wasn’t completely shallow to join the ranks of females such as Pocahontas and Belle (Mulan is great, too, but Mulan came out a year after Hercules). Meg is sassy, sarcastic, and just plain amazing, and who better to fulfill that role than my friend Michelle. I will admit, I was quite impressed by Michelle’s interpretation of her favorite Disney diva. It isn’t, after all, everyday that you see Michelle wearing makeup.

Considering how Meg actually has really impossible hair (it’s definitely the bangs), I feel as if Michelle did a great job of getting as close to the original as possible. In terms of the modern twist on Meg’s Grecian dress, Michelle’s purple jacket provides a very interesting sense of style. It’s a contemporary Meg. And Michelle is that strong-willed woman who thinks for herself. And of course, she’s got some of the best sarcasm ever.

Esmeralda (The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

This last character is a little different from the rest given that the sequence of photos is more cultural than it is a fairy tale. Tara is of Romani decent and with that comes the territory of gypsies. Since Tara was in town visiting at the time, she asked if I would be willing to help her capture some of that. Of course I obliged. Below are a few examples of that portion of her heritage.

What I love about these photos is how frail Tara seems, almost like a porcelain doll. The patterns and colors give way to this very bohemian style that can often be found amongst the gypsy community. The connection with Hunchback is that, of course, Esmeralda was a gypsy. Esmeralda had a close connection with nature, so the background of these photos only seems fitting.

So there you have it, a modern winter fairy tale. I’m really excited to mention that as of tomorrow (Friday, Dec. 16th) at around 5 p.m., I will be off of photographic hiatus. I have some amazing ideas that I hope to implement this winter break. And hopefully Monochrome Mondays will resume soon, too. So keep checking back here for updates! (And wish me good luck on these last two finals.)

Leave a Reply

