Monochrome Monday #18 (50th Blog Post Special)

Happy Monday/day after Christmas! I hope you all enjoyed the holiday in all of its church-going, present opening, fine-food-feasting glory. I have a present for you all, too. It’s a brand new Monochrome Monday! And this is more than just any regular old MM. This is my 50th blog post!!! Best present ever? Of course it is. I picked it out myself. So without further ado, I give you the brand new MM post-Christmas special (which actually has nothing to do with Christmas):

Just in case someone out there doesn’t recognize world monuments, that is a miniature Eiffel Tower. This little beauty is on display on the mantel above the fireplace at my friend Susan’s house. There are so many French related things in that house, it’s ridiculous (especially given the fact that all of those French things are paired with all of the Asian things since Susan’s family is Chinese).

So why is this important to me? Well, I took French for 6 1/2 years from 7th grade until my first semester of college. And it’s a dream of mine to get to travel to France one day (though let me clarify: I honestly don’t want to stay in Paris. I mean, Paris is cool and all, and I would love to visit, but only for like a weekend or something. I’m not a big city girl [never mind the fact that I’m totally from a decently sized city and love it]. I love beaches. My dream is to visit Nice [pronounced niece], a city on the French Riviera). I’ve had a few opportunities come my way, but I’ve had to pass them up.

Because of this desire of mine to travel abroad, I call this photo Little Tower of Dreams. Despite not wanting to visit Paris for longer than a week, I still want to see the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe. I want to go on a tour in the Louvre and the Musée D’Orsay. I want to take pictures at the Notre Dame and ride on the Seine under the Pont Neuf. And of course, I absolutely must skip down the Champs-Élysées while singing the song of the same name.

Travel is important to me. Embracing various cultures is something I truly cherish, and it’s something that I want to instill in my own children. I guess part of this comes from my lack of traveling much in my life. I’ve never been out of the country, and my family and I never really went on vacations when I was younger (save for the trips to Texas/Virginia/Maryland to visit family. Though I have been to Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Florida, and quite a few other states). But a person can learn a lot from other cultures. Sometimes I feel as if Americans are so self-centered and close-minded. I don’t want me or my children to be that way. So will I encourage my children to go out and about and educate themselves on international life? You bet I will.

I want to go to Ireland and Japan and India and the Dominican Republic and so many other places. I want to be a well-rounded person, one who cares about others and respects others’ cultures. This mini Eiffel Tower symbolizes that. One day I’ll make it abroad. I bet it’ll be one of the greatest experiences of my life. Until then, I’ll just keep this Little Tower of Dreams in front of me as a reminder of my dreams for the future. Happy Monochrome Monday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andrewplacephotography
    Dec 26, 2011 @ 16:52:11

    Happy 50th, and travel (with camera) is truely a life changing experience, save up, eat at friends, walk to work, whatever you can do to save for travel. But beware once you start you can’t stop.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: One Year, One Million Dreams And Counting (Anniversary Special) « McClish Photography Studios

Leave a Reply

