Winter Break Challenge Result #4

Good Thursday to you. As promised, I have a new challenge result. I never thought I would ever actually get anything photography related from going to Bible class, but I managed to get a few things. I’ll save the more fun/interesting photos for later (i.e. – tomorrow) and focus on the following:

Last night was our “Year End Gathering” which we have the last Wednesday night of the year. It usually includes a short devotional, food, and recognition of members who have contributed a lot to the congregation. I’ve been doing this for the past 20 or so years of my life, so I’ve come to expect utter chaos and much talking. Luckily for me, I thought to bring my camera for sheer entertainment purposes because, well, what else was I really supposed to do while sitting there starving while the elders tried, unsuccessfully, to get the congregation to shut up long enough to get things accomplished?

I think there was supposed to be some sort of movie theme. This honestly did not translate well into anything that happened last night aside from the decorations, part of which can be seen in the photo above. There were bags of popcorn on all of the tables (which my oldest niece found oddly entertaining, much to mine and my brother’s chagrin) with tickets sticking out of them. An interesting concept and no doubt clever if, as aforementioned, the theme had actually made sense. But for the sake of giving credit for creative genius, it looked nice. Pointless and a definite waste of popcorn (there was so much popcorn), but nice. (This may very well be why I gave up on my former childhood dream of being a party planner/interior decorator.)

Still, things turned out nicely, I suppose. Honor was given where honor was due. The food was good (especially my aunt’s honey bun bread pudding. No joke. It’s usually made with fresh Krispy Kreme donuts, but due to time restraints, my aunt was innovative and used honey buns instead. SO GOOD.). And I enjoyed some time with my little siblings, my older siblings, and my nieces. All in all, I’d say it was a pretty decent night.

Be looking out tomorrow for another challenge result which isn’t so much a challenge result as it is the start of another little project I have going on this weekend.

Leave a Reply

