Winter Break Challenge Result #5

“It’s Friday, Friday! Gotta get down on Friday! Partyin’ partyin’ YEAH!” Ok, I’m done. I apologize to any of you who now have such a horrible song stuck in your head. You have my permission to be mad at me. However, after today’s challenge result, you won’t be able to stay mad at me because I’m going to present to you something so adorable that you won’t even know what to do with yourself. Are you ready? Go forth and read:

Sugar, spice, and everything nice. That’s what little girls are made of.

Go ahead. Smile. Squeal with delight. I know she’s adorable. This little cutie is, after all, my youngest niece. How can you not fall in love with someone with such a cute little face? It doesn’t really matter though. She knows she’s cute. And she loves taking pictures now. She quite enjoyed being in front of my camera. (Her sister tried to act otherwise even though I know without a doubt that the oldest is enough of a diva to love being in front of the camera, too.)

I’ve never photographed children before. Rather, I’ve never photographed children with the actual intent to photograph them in a professional sense. (I took this one really cute photo of my surrogate mother’s son a few years ago and it is still, to this day, one of the most adorable pictures I have ever taken.) I’ve also never done family portraits (not as a model or as a photographer). But my oldest brother, Marc, has drafted me to take some up-to-date family portraits for he and his wife. As usual, I am always looking for a new photographic challenge, and photographing kids is certainly going to be the most challenging thing I have ever done. College students are easy models to work with. They do as I say when I need them to. Children, on the other hand, have minds of their own. But I’m looking forward to it. Especially since my nieces love pictures so much.

But just in case things don’t work out exactly as any of us would hope, I at least have this lovely shot:

Yep, that’s what little girls are made of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

