Monochrome Monday #19 (Craft Day Edition)

Happy New Year! It’s my first post of the new year and I’m actually really excited about today’s photos. That’s right, there’s more than one. They also aren’t black and white. Today’s post is different because today is a special kind of Monday. I finally got to hang out with my friend Sarah, and whenever we get together, we always have craft days. We’ve done everything from splatter painting to playing with 3D sidewalk chalk, and today’s craft session was just as abstract and awesome as ever!

Sarah and I made melted crayon art. It’s a very simple process. We took Crayola crayons and hot glued them to a canvas. Then we took a hairdryer and melted the crayons so that the wax would drip (or in the case of my big piece, splatter). It was such a fun project that I’ve been wanting to do for a while, and we finally got to do it.

I loved everything about doing this art project. For starters, I am the girl who wants to work for Crayola naming crayon colors and what not. Also, this was great (and much-needed) art therapy. This is something that I would totally do again, and I’d definitely do this with my kids as a bonding experience.

Everything about this experience was great. Crafting is something I truly enjoy because I have creative freedom to do whatever I please. I love working with Sarah on crafts because we always come up with some pretty interesting things to do. We’ve already begun planning our next craft session: balloon paint art.

But now I have to go and do even more crafts as I prepare for tomorrow’s Pumped Up Kicks photo shoot. It’s going to be a whopping 34 degrees in Nashville tomorrow, so wish us luck. Also, if you want to see some of the creative projects Sarah does, check out her Blogspot! It’s definitely worth the time! Happy Monday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatiesCameraBlog
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:54:50

    I love this. I really liked the first photo, but then the art. Really interesting and fun. And CRAYONS! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: One Year, One Million Dreams And Counting (Anniversary Special) « McClish Photography Studios

Leave a Reply

