Anniversary Extravaganza Special #3: Julie

Good Tuesday to you. I hope this post finds you well. Spring break spoiled me. I had forgotten how ridiculously busy my Tuesdays and Thursdays were until I had to wake up for my 8 a.m. class and go nonstop all day with classes and meetings. And I’m just getting started. I just got back from playing disc golf in my Volleyball and Recreational Games class (which doesn’t sound as bad until I point out that it’s already 75 degrees outside), but I still have so much left to do. I wish that it was spring break again. But never fear, I have still found the energy to post the next daily special. And today’s post will focus solely on my most dramatic model – Julie:

Grunge Julie

Ok. Let me be honest: Julie is by far the most dramatic model I have ever dealt with. But not dramatic in the sense of causing problems and starting stuff with people. No, I mean dramatic in the sense of over doing it. You know how in movies when you see a scene of a photo shoot, the model changes poses every second to something even more ridiculous than before? Yeah, that’s Julie. Correction: that was Julie, when she first started out that is.

I will not lie and tell you that I didn’t find that kind of overdone, movie fantasy a tad annoying. It made it nearly impossible to take a picture of Julie. At the same time, the experience taught me that even though I am all gung-ho for letting my models have free reign over what they do, this only works about 95% of the time for 95% of my models. Occasionally, I come across that one model who simply does not know what to do with herself, and I have to get over my own natural complex and tell that person exactly what to do, or at least feed them an idea or two.

But even when being over-the-top, I must give Julie some credit for being an interesting subject. And she always presents me with a challenge. In that respect, I definitely appreciate what Julie does for my photography.

Julie the Musician

The above sequence of photos act as the beginning of a transitioning point for Julie as a model. This could possibly be attributed to the fact that this was from my music shoot from summer 2010, and Julie is very much comfortable when it comes to music. She sings (big voice and all), she can play a little piano and a little guitar, and she’s a songwriter. For her, music comes naturally. It’s a part of who she is. So to be in this kind of shoot may have been much more comfortable for her.

These images from the music shoot are by far my favorites of Julie because for once, her dramatizations had a purpose. And they fit the setting, her style, and her music. Rather than changing poses every second, she fell into a steady rhythm of modeling. Every pose captured her as a musician, not just as a model or a person sitting in front of the camera lens. This new beginning gave me a reason to continue taking pictures rather than walking away because for once, Julie trusted me as the photographer and I understood Julie as the model.

Simply Julie

As Julie continues to attend my photo sessions, she still has to be reminded to tone it down on the drama. And once she remembers to do that, the results are nothing short of phenomenal. I guess I could say that Julie has grown the most out of all of my models. She’s certainly one of the most entertaining to watch (and occasionally poke fun at, out of love no less). She’s still coming into her own in front of the camera, still working on being comfortable in her own skin. But I think she has potential. Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

