Anniversary Extravaganza Special #6: Mary Jane

It’s finally Friday! I live for Fridays, but then again, what student doesn’t? I am especially living for the next two Fridays with their cancelled classes and fun adventures. And the fact that I have survived yet another week of classes is definitely worth celebrating (despite the major academic setback that arose on Tuesday). And what better way to celebrate than with a new anniversary special? It’s the last one before tomorrow’s big happy birthday blog post! It’s going to be HUGE! But first, we must get through today, and I have a wonderful post for you featuring the one and only Mary Jane:

The Many Faces of Mary Jane

Of all my models, I love working with Mary Jane the best. It has nothing to do with her being prettier than everyone or anything like that because I honestly believe that Mary Jane is on an equal playing field in comparison to all of my other models in that respect. But Mary Jane does outdo all of my other models when it comes to the sheer level of fun that I have when doing photography. Don’t get me wrong; I love my other models, and we have a lot of fun producing the images that you have been seeing all week. But things become much more interesting, challenging, and fun when I’m doing a session with Mary Jane.

For the readers who know Mary Jane personally, you know how energetic she tends to be. You also know that she loves to make faces, and she can’t stand or sit still to save her life. It’s just a Mary Jane thing. Because of this, I find it a challenge to keep up with Mary Jane in my photography. She isn’t dramatic in the sense that Julie tends to be during a photo session, but it’s definitely a lot of fun and games when Mary Jane is around. But through all of the funny faces and random dance breaks stems something absolutely amazing. I can always count on spectacular results from the photos I take of this girl.

Something Unexpected

Every so often, I like to look back through the photos I’ve taken in the past. And occasionally, I find photos that, at the time of their taking, didn’t really strike me as anything worth really focusing on, but now that I look at them again with fresh eyes, I see something more in them than before. That’s how I feel about Mary Jane’s photos. There are the ones that I automatically know are going to be hits, but then there are those that are more like diamonds in the rough and they just need a little while to catch my attention.

Mary Jane is very comfortable in front of the camera. Even though we have to take the occasional “Mary Jane moment” break, she still performs well as a model. Like some of the others, modeling is more natural for her. I never have to really ask her to do anything because everything she does is so perfect for the camera, even if she is sticking her tongue out or dancing like there’s no tomorrow. And anything that I may ask of her is met with a smile and a willing spirit. That sort of enthusiasm and support/respect for what I do is absolutely paramount.

As you have seen over the course of this week, all of my models bring something different to a photo shoot. It is my responsibility to capture their stories and make them look and feel their absolute best. I would be failing them if I didn’t meet that expectation. They work so hard to make every photo shoot a success, and I owe them the simple ability to seize the opportunity and reap the benefits of such fine models. It’s just how the circle of life [read: photography] works.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. knudsens
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:04:40

    Great portraits.

    Reply

  2. mary jane
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 14:58:27

    Ah I miss you. So much. Come home and see me.

    Reply

    • Rhonda13
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 17:36:57

      I miss you, too! I’m coming home soon, and you are definitely at the top of my list of people to see.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

