A Glimpse of the Future

Happy Friday! Today is a good day. Because of some random drama on campus last semester, we get the day off from classes (it’s a complicated story). And because of some other random drama over the past 32 hours (it’s an even more complicated story), I am super grateful for this day off . And what better way to spend the day than by enjoying some photography? I’ve got a session with one of my residents later this afternoon, and I think it’ll be pretty awesome. It’s actually kind of nice to be out and about taking photos because I have been in an artsy sort of mood for a while now. And this is great for you all because that means more photography for you to see. I’ve come up with a sort of overarching theme for my photography this season. See below:

I’ve got a lot in store for the next few weeks/months. I’m being hit with different opportunities left and right from graduation/senior portraits to engagement/wedding photos. And it’s an honor to be asked to do all of these things. For instance, one of my really good friends from high school is getting married in March 2013 and asked me to start thinking about how much I would charge her to photograph her wedding. It’s not everyday that an amateur photographer, such as myself, is asked to do something as big and as daunting as photographing a wedding. Engagement photos, maybe, but not the actual wedding!

But somewhere in all of that excitement and opportunity is the key to being able to succeed at such a thing. I love art. It is one of the few things I am truly an advocate of/passionate about. And recently, I have been bombarded by it. Last night I went to this big dance performance that we have on campus every year called Kinetic Expressions. It’s this huge showcase put together by various students and members of the community who have a passion for dance. I had never been before, and one of my friends threatened me into going. And I’m glad she did. It was one of the most beautifully artistic things I have ever seen. The reflections cast on the floor from the dancers and their costumes were absolutely gorgeous (and because I didn’t have the right equipment with me, I didn’t get to capture it). And so the inner photographer started to come out and I was inspired.

The photo above says Art = Love. And I think it does to a degree. Those who do art love what they do. They have an interesting way of looking at the world. And with all of these new opportunities that are arising, I want to remember this so that I can keep doing something that I genuinely love. The other great thing about this photo is that it’s also a sneak peek at a small project that I came up with over spring break. But alas, you must wait to find out about this project. However, I will provide you with one more glimpse of what is to come (at least in the sense of that project):

There’s so much going on for me in terms of art, and I am super excited about getting to share that with everyone. And I hope you’re excited, too, because things are about to get hectic and crazy and absolutely fun! And who doesn’t like having fun? So stick around. It’s going to take a while to process all of these opportunities, but I’m totally ready! Are you?!

Leave a Reply

