A Graduation Affair – Preview

It is 2:30 a.m. where I am right now, and rather than sleeping so that I can get up and function for my 8 a.m. class, I am writing to you instead. That, my friends, is dedication. Well, it also has a lot to do with the fact that in about 10 hours, I will be on my way home for an incredible Easter weekend (I fell behind on my packing/cleaning due to a busy/stressful week). But I didn’t feel right about possibly leaving without having shared a sneak peek of the mini senior/graduation photo session I had with my friend Erica today (technically yesterday). Please enjoy:

I can honestly say that I have never done anything of this nature before. Erica entrusted me with taking the photos featured on her graduation announcements. Now that may not seem like such a big deal, but trust me, it is. Erica has finally made it to her shining moment. She actually graduated from high school a year early (she skipped a grade somewhere in her time in school) and would have graduated in May 2011, but due to some scheduling conflicts, she ended up staying for another year. Technically, she’s with her appropriate class age-wise, but she has been a bit bummed about having missed graduating with the friends that she came into college with (but she got to spend another year with little ol’ me).

I met Erica my freshman year, her junior year. She was my RA and lived right across the hall. I spent a great deal of my time hanging out with her in her room doing homework and talking about photography and jamming to old school music. We have a lot of things in common, things that I can’t say I share with other people like mixing ketchup and mustard together for eating corn dogs and loving banana pudding Blue Bell ice cream. We’re a quirky duo when together, and I was honored to be asked to take her graduation pictures.

I see Erica (aka Buddy) as an inspiration. She’s a nursing major, and that is certainly not an easy field to really break into and do well in. She cares about people, and she’s amazing at science related topics, so I would trust my family in her care. And despite being a super senior and having suffered the loss of several family members over the past 3 or so months, Erica has finally reached her goal of graduation. I would say that’s something worth celebrating.

There are so many other amazing portraits that were taken, and I can’t wait to share them with you all soon. We literally spent a good hour just trying to figure out which photos to use on Erica’s graduation invitations. But I think they will turn out well. Just a little inspiration and encouragement for anyone who is struggling with the patience needed to reach a given goal (like me, who is having a hard time being patient about getting to my own graduation in May 2013 as well as just getting home for the weekend).

Have a great Easter weekend everyone! See you when I get back!

Leave a Reply

