Monochrome Monday #31 [Part 1]

Good Monday to all you fine people! Last week was absolutely insane, and though this week will start off decently calm, the waters are set to ripple again on Wednesday as I continue work on Cabaret. Such is my life. It also doesn’t help that my weekend was spent doing two different photo shoots. Not that it was a bad thing. In fact, it was quite awesome because it resulted in a cool two-part Monochrome Monday for you all! So get ready for part 1, right now, because it’s going to be awesome! See what I mean below:

It’s been a few months since I last worked with Erin, but she’s been hounding me for a while to take more pictures. I finally obliged on Saturday and got some pretty stellar monochrome shots. She found this white wicker chair by one of the residence halls on campus and thought it looked creepy. Upon taking me to it, I agreed that there was an eeriness about it and jumped on the opportunity to photograph Erin in it.

There was something interesting about the way Erin approached this shoot. I guess after deciding that the chair was creepy, most of her facial expressions became cold and serious. I did not argue with this because it gave me something completely different to work with. I guess it kind of made Erin seem more like a lost child or possibly a possessed girl left to haunt people in the woods or something. I don’t really know how to explain it. I just know that her lack of smiles was intriguing.

Even in black-and-white, Erin’s eyes are still captivating. The viewer can’t help but to be in drawn in by her eyes. I’ve always wished that my eyes could have been bold and beautiful. Sadly, being born African-American greatly decreases one’s chances of having stunningly beautiful eyes. All I got was an uncool, completely lackluster super dark brown color. Still, as a photographer, I adore Erin’s eyes.

I will admit, upon first seeing this photo (pre-edit), I was not that fond of it. And I knew exactly what bothered me about the photo: Erin’s mouth (read: expression). To me, it just seemed like an odd expression. But after working through editing, I found myself liking this photo more and more despite the strange expression. I like profiles. I enjoy it when models look away from the camera. It makes the viewer wonder what the model is looking at. What does Erin see that has her so on edge? It’s a mystery.

There’s so much more to show you from this shoot. More pictures of Erin, and pictures of a new model whose final edits surprised me (in a good way, of course). I am pleased with the way these photos turned out, and I cannot wait to reveal them to you this week and next. But until then, Happy Monochrome Monday!

Leave a Reply

