Seeing Stars (100th Post Special)

Howdy. This is a bit unexpected seeing as my laptop is still in the shop (the diagnosis: a failed hard drive; there goes the material for the blog which I now need to reconstruct…once I get my laptop back…), but I suppose that that shouldn’t actually stop me from participating in photography and posting on this here blog. And so I have a post for you because I absolutely couldn’t stand not posting for you all. And what better way to do this than by celebrating my 100th blog post in the process?! A fine celebration indeed. See below:

Today (now technically yesterday. Tuesday evening) was the end-of-year banquet that my job department hosts every school year. There’s some food and random awards and some reflections. Honestly, I see it as an excuse to dress up and eat catered food for an hour. This year’s theme was Bollywood (of which I totally approved because Bollywood films are amazing and Indian cuisine is delicious), and the decorations on the table included these cute little star holders. Naturally, I took pictures of them.

Maybe it’s the fact that the sun was shining on this gold figure and made it glow. And that glowing kind of reminds me of the light at the end of the tunnel, the tunnel of school/this semester. And I can see that light. Classes end on Thursday, and I am pretty much done with everything. I managed to bs my way through a 7 page research paper and turned it in a few days early. I’m officially done  having to learn new content in my nutrition class. Everything is starting to come together, and in a week, after I’m done taking my last three finals, I will be free from this ridiculous school year. The light at the end of the tunnel.

I find myself wishing for a break and I’m very close to getting it, but like all good things, I must be patient which is not the easiest of tasks. And then I see this star and think about all of the things I’m ready to do this summer. Aside from taking a class and working, I’ll have all kinds of free time to just sit outside and blow bubbles and fly my Spiderman kite. I’ll be able to sleep in and stay up late without any pressing obligations. It’s that light at the end of the tunnel, and I am more than ready for it.

But alas, it’s all about learning to wait. I still have a million obligations to fulfill before I can even think about doing any of those fun activities. I still have to get through finals and dorm closing. And then I have to move my stuff across campus before I can start my summer class and summer labor. But this little decoration gives me all kinds of hope that the end is nearing and I will make it.

Hopefully my laptop will be fixed soon. They’ve begun work on ordering the necessary parts and fixing the poor thing. The fact that it even survived nearly 3 full years of use and constant “abuse” is amazing. Just another sign that I’m nearing that light at the end of the tunnel. I hope that whatever stress or waiting period that you’re going through, you’ll successfully reach the end. It’s not easy, and it’s a long road to walk, but when you get there, you’re certainly going to be proud of yourself for doing so. Just keep following that shining star and let the light guide you.

Leave a Reply

