Monochrome Monday #32

What a lazy rainy Monday. Too bad I have to spend it working and taking a summer class. Best ever, right? Still, my days are much more relaxed now that the regular school year is over. And in celebration of this feat, and my good grades for the semester, I have a new Monochrome Monday for you all! (Actually, this post and my educational successes have nothing to do with each other. I just wanted to force some sort of correlation there.) Keeping with this trend of my previous photo shoot, I have another photo of Brandy to present:

I don’t know what else to call this photo aside from Not Quite a Cinderella Story. As aforementioned, Brandy has a subtle kind of beauty, one that isn’t focused in physical appearance. Yet this photo is still hauntingly beautiful.

I can’t quite explain it. It could be the dress or the meek and somber expression on Brandy’s face. I also find the dying tulips in the background to be a nice bonus in the way of adding a touch of “haunting” to this portrait. I think it’s also a bit strange (read: awesome) how Brandy was able to turn her body the way she did. I mean, she is this tiny girl, hardly the size of my pinky, and she is twisted with bones sticking out as if she hasn’t eaten in a while (which, I can say with 100% certainty, is not the case. Brandy honestly eats more than most people I know. She was just blessed with an amazing metabolism. Lucky…).

I like the eeriness that exudes from this picture. I feel as if Brandy’s like a lost princess waiting for her prince or that something creepy/bad has or is about to happen. I don’t know why exactly I feel this way about this photo, but it kind of gives me chill in all of its splendor.

This photo shoot gave me some great ideas for my Through the Eyes of a Child photo shoot (currently scheduled for the end of this summer thanks to Michelle who has to be present but will be gone all summer doing an internship). I anticipate quite a few of my models wanting to sport tutus and fairy wings as little girls are prone to do. And to get that magical, fairy tale look, I need to be in an environment with tall grass and maybe some sort of water source. Bubbles are a great accessory to add to the photos. But what I garnered most from working with Brandy was that aside from capturing the happy, playful sides of my models, there is still a calmer, more somber side, even for children. They can be graceful, and I don’t want to forget to pick up on that during my photo shoots.

And there you have it. I suppose I should return to the real world and keep working to make this money. Need to save up for this new DSLR I’ve been eying. (Exciting, right?) Happy Monochrome Monday!

Leave a Reply

