Monochrome Monday #37

Happy Monday, everyone! I am writing to you from home sweet home! Of course, I’ll be returning to campus in a matter of hours, but until then, I will relish in the fact that I have had an awesome weekend in Nashville. You know how last week I said that in my time home, I might get some photography out of it? Well, I did. And in all honesty, I couldn’t be more thrilled with today’s Monochrome Monday. It is special to me in a way that none of my other photos are. Why? Well, just keep reading:

My best friend is getting married!

I’ve known this, of course, since the day the question was popped over 3 months ago. I was among the first to be notified. A picture of the ring was soon to follow. March 10th was a special day for Skye, and I was honored to be among the elite privileged enough to find out in a manner that didn’t consist of Facebook. But this past Friday, I was privileged to do something that not even I ever dreamed of doing.

I helped my best friend pick out her wedding dress!

A text about me being in town and wanting to hang out whenever Skye was free prompted a phone call from Skye which led to her asking me if I wanted to go with her to shop for the dress that will be worn on the most important day of her life. Obviously, I said yes because there was no way in hell (excuse my French) that I was passing up that opportunity. And considering how my previous plans for the day were rescheduled for the next, it was almost as if it was meant to be. I was meant to be present for, what turned out to be day 2 of, wedding gown shopping.

That same phone call lending the invitation also graced me with the information that Skye wanted me to be a bridesmaid. Yet another offer I couldn’t refuse, and honestly, I was honored to be asked and I’m still giddy at the thought of being in my best friend’s wedding. She has claimed me for that whole weekend, and honestly, I don’t mind. I’ve always wanted to help with the making over and decorations and the whole shebang. It’s going to be one crazy weekend.

I’m going to be a bridesmaid in my best friend’s wedding which is the week before I graduate from college!

Since Skye had already had one day of dress shopping, she had two in her “favorites pile.” Her mom, sister, and grandmother joined us at David’s Bridal. The assistant, named Ashley, was really helpful and on point with her fashion suggestions (and really pretty, if I might add). Every dress Skye tried on look absolutely gorgeous on her (being a ballerina has its perks when it comes to one’s body). But there was one dress, picked out by her mother courtesy of my love of clearance items, that stood out and ended up winning the votes of me, the family, the other patrons and workers in the store, and, ultimately, Skye. That is not the dress in the picture. I’m not allowed to post any photos of her actual dress yet, but let me tell you, it’s PERFECT. That’s why I’ve entitled this photo Say Yes to the Dress.

My best friend looks like a fairy princess in her wedding dress!

I was like the official photographer as Skye tried on and modeled each dress. I was only working with phones and my regular Sanyo digital point-and-shoot. Still, I couldn’t help myself. Once a photographer, always a photographer, no matter what the equipment. I don’t even know what to say about this photo aside from that I LOVE IT! This is going to be the most amazing, special experience for Skye. The choices she is making speak to her character. Her little sister, born with cerebral palsy, is her maid of honor. Me and our friend Libby, her two best friends, are her bridesmaids. She even has a junior bridesmaid! She’s got a venue, a menu, and she’s working hard to get this all planned out. For an event that is normally considered one that causes total anxiety, Skye is very on top of this. She and her fiance have already begun looking for houses.

My best friend is all grown up!

I guess that, in the end, this is giving me some practice for the weddings that I’m supposed to be filming next year. I’m learning what details to pay attention to, the things that are important to a bride…it’s all so exciting, and I couldn’t be happier for everyone involved in all the weddings I’m honored enough to get to partake in. *sigh* Maybe this will be me one day…no rush, though.

So there you have it. A very special Monochrome Monday. I’m sure there will be more images like these to come over the course of the next 10 months. April 2013 may seem far away now, but I know the time will fly by (assuming, of course, the world doesn’t end in December 2012. The Apocalypse stands between me, several weddings, and [possibly even more importantly] my college graduation). Still, just thinking about all of this is special enough. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

