An Independence Day Photo

So today is the 4th of July. Typically for me, this day is really nothing more than my uncle’s birthday and a day to eat delicious food and watch fireworks (sadly, only two of the three items on this checklist will be accomplished by the end of the day: I’ve already called my uncle to wish him a happy birthday, and I get to eat delicious food in t-minus an hour and a half. I don’t get to enjoy fireworks this year because I have to work tonight). However, for the sake of seeming just a wee bit more patriotic (I swear I do like being American…most of the time…), I took a picture:

But first, let me begin with a fun fact (two fun facts really): Did you know that the vote for independence was actually done on July 2, 1776? Well, it was. So technically, we’re celebrating Independence Day two days late. And, though the words of the Declaration of Independence were approved on the 4th, the actual signing ceremony wasn’t held until a month later, August 2, 1776. Just a fun fact (and yes, you can find this information on the National Archives website, so no, I’m not making this all up). But anyway. How about that picture I was talking about:

Part of me really just wants to leave it at that, and let this photo speak for itself. We all have stories to tell about what it is to be an American. I know for me, there is the constant struggle still of being an African-American female and making something of myself in a country that still finds itself plagued with a great deal of racism, sexism, and overall prejudice. However, I am getting my education and working towards a much brighter future, and I wouldn’t be able to do that in very many places outside of the U.S.

I don’t know everyone’s stories. We all have a lot to tell. But I will say that I respect being from a place where I have more opportunities to be a better person and to help others to have better lives. We’re flawed, that’s for sure, but then again, what country isn’t?

So with that being said, think of your story. What does it mean to be an American in your eyes? And of course on a totally lighter note, have fun and be safe today. May your barbeques be tasty and your fireworks as loud and as colorful as you could ever dream. Oh, and of course, stay cool. Wear some sunblock or something (skin cancer is not fun, so I’ve heard). Happy birthday, America!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Happy Belated Blog-iversary! (Anniversary Special) | McClish Photography Studios

Leave a Reply

