Eyes of a Child Look #1: Lauren

I’m back! Happy Friday! I probably should have gone to work today, make some extra money and all, but I chose to run some errands and lay in my bed all day instead. This is, after all, one of my last few days of freedom for a while (and by “a while,” I really mean for the next 2.5 months or so…oh, the life of a theatre major/RA…). But I figured that I’d get a head start on posting some of these photos for you from my most recent photo session, so why don’t we take a happy little look at that below:

Childhood is the world of miracle or of magic: it is as if creation rose luminously out of the night, all new and fresh and astonishing. Childhood is over the moment things are no longer astonishing. When the world gives you a feeling of “déjà vu,” when you are used to existence, you become an adult. ~Eugene Ionesco

This was only Lauren’s second time ever being in one of my photo shoots, but her pictures were among the best of the day. For someone so tall and intimidating (not to me, but to people who don’t know her), Lauren is quite adorable, much like a little kid. She digs Sailor Moon, she owns a giant teddy bear (to be seen shortly), and she loves classic Disney movies just as much as I do. All of that combined created the wonderful images of Lauren that I am posting for you now.

Adults are obsolete children.  ~Dr. Seuss

I love this photo. Sometimes things don’t work the way you want them to, not right away anyway. I asked Lauren to act like the balloons were picking her up and carrying her off into the air. She was having a bit of trouble keeping her balance at the time, so I snapped this picture in the process. It is honestly a beautiful, fun shot. I was told a few weeks back that I “have a knack for catching action shots.” This is one of them.

Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.  ~Pablo Picasso

See? Giant teddy bear. My models are some of the most amazing people/models on the planet. I don’t think I’ve ever had more fun on set than I did this past Monday. The amount of imagination they had with their outfit choices and props was just…magical. I think that is the only truly appropriate word for it. Everything about this photo shoot was simply magical. It was like bringing the characters of your favorite storybook to life, watching as they spring up from the pages getting into mischief and making you smile wider and laugh harder than you ever had before.

My childhood may be over, but that doesn’t mean playtime is.  ~Ron Olson

This could, quite possibly, be my favorite photo of Lauren from the entire session. How does one protect themselves from falling bubbles? Simple; they whip out a cute parasol and watch the bubbles rain down. Do you believe me now about this being magical? I think that’s all I really even have to say about this image. I’m seriously speechless every time I look at it.

Children have neither past nor future; they enjoy the present, which very few of us do.  ~Jean de La Bruyère

I finally got to try the notorious glitter blowing picture! And look at how it turned out! Sheer excitement! All but one of my models got a chance to try this out, and by the end of it, I was completely covered in glitter. And since glitter is the herpes of arts n’ crafts supplies, you’d think that there would be a bit of disdain in regards to finding said glitter everywhere. But there wasn’t. All of my models willingly picked out their own tubes of glitter and let it blow. They were thrilled to be covered in sparkles and couldn’t have cared less that they were still finding it in their hair and clothes and cars days later (I’m pretty glitter free now save for the glitter in my hair that I refuse to wash out yet). Lauren even sneezed glitter. The things we do for photography.

Oh, there’s just so much to show! So much to see! But we’ll take this one post at a time. Patience is supposed to be a virtue, right? But I have very little patience in trying to show you all these images. But until the next post (which may or may not be tomorrow or sometime super soon), there’s always Monochrome Monday which will also sport a look at this Through the Eyes of a Child photo session. Despite training starting, I am determined to get you all an MM post, even if I do have to post it really late. It will be there unless I am hospitalized or something tragic (or unless I am just so tired that I crash and burn). Have a great weekend, everyone!

When childhood dies, its corpses are called adults and they enter society, one of the politer names of hell.  That is why we dread children, even if we love them; they show us the state of our decay.  ~Brian Aldiss

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Happy Belated Blog-iversary! (Anniversary Special) | McClish Photography Studios

Leave a Reply

