Through the Eyes of a Child: Sneak Peek

Oh, hey guys! Did you miss me? I know it’s been a little while since I last posted; I’ve been on vacation, and now that I’m back on campus with a few days to kill before RA training starts next week, I figured that I’d stay up late (I’m probably going to regret this at some point) to mark my triumphant return to blogging with a sneak peek of my newest photo shoot. This session has been four months in the making, and I can honestly say that it was everything I imagined and then some! So please sit back and enjoy, just for a little while, seeing life through the eyes of a child:

Everyone has a story to tell…what’s your once upon a time…?

In all honesty, I can’t say that I was super surprised by the results of this shoot. I can, however, say that I had a lot of fun being a kid again and watching my models have the time of their lives playing with the various toys/props we brought for the occasion. I think this was the first time in a while that I’ve given into so many different ideas and demands all at once. Usually, I am less about directing and more about just letting things unfold naturally. I didn’t expect for things to be any different (tell me what child you know that actually likes to be posed and directed…can’t think of one? Of course not) until I realized that I had a first time model present as well as some veterans who acted like they didn’t know what to do, so they commanded me to command them. Some of my models had visions of their own and simply asked me to make those visions comes to life while others were bent on me doing all the thinking for them. Still, I think this weird mesh of directing and organic blocking came together quite nicely into one of the most eclectic, magical photo shoots I have ever had.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made it very clear to my models that they could be anything or anyone they wanted and that I honestly didn’t care who or what that was. I think the only real stipulation I gave was to Michelle who wanted to bring all 8 (yes, eight) of her Furbies, but I said she could only bring four (and then she totally brought all eight anyway and I was repulsed by them because Furbies were freaky when I was 10, and they’re still freaky now, especially since they’ve been revamped and put back out on the toy market).

My models really pulled through, coming as everything from evil witches to ballerinas. We had simple costume changes courtesy of some awesome capes that billowed in the wind and fairy wings. Bubbles and balloons were involved of course, as were giant teddy bears and giant bananas and smoke bombs. The amount of props we had to use was more than I could have ever dreamed. We literally had enough stuff to run a small toy store in park.

Apparently we, seven kids ranging from ages 15-21, were having so much fun that at one point, some random guy walking his dog stopped us and asked us if we were putting on a play. True story. The guy actually mistook us for some acting troupe putting on a play in the park (never mind the fact that we had no audience aside from ourselves and I was very clearly taking pictures…but hey! I don’t mind someone thinking that I’m famous). One little boy, about 7 years old, was so intrigued by what we were doing, especially when we busted out the bubbles, that he walked up to us and asked if he could help. So we let him blow bubbles with my giant blue bubble wand (his mom was not too thrilled that he was “helping us,” but I thought it was cute that he wanted to play with us). That’s how much fun we were having.

To make a good child, you kind of have to be one. Most of us may be in college, but we are still very much children…at least at heart anyway…

So far, the likes and comments on the photos have been slow rolling in (mostly because I posted them so late. It took me a good 6-7 hours to get them all edited), but from what I’ve gotten so far, the feedback is good. I achieved my goal. I set out to capture childhood, innocence, happiness, smiles…and it wasn’t about the bubbles and toys and balloons. No; this shoot was about having fun. Even as adults, well, for five out of the seven of us, we’re still able to enjoy aspects of our youth. Sure, we’re at that stage in our lives where we’re about to transition into the real world and pay taxes and bills and pay for our own gas for our own cars, but every once in a while, there’s still nothing wrong with enjoying cartoons and board games and pigtails…well…um…ok, I do that about 85% of the time, but in my defense, it’s also my career choice, so I don’t have to give it up…or at least I don’t think I have to…

I think we really did spend that whole day seeing the world through the eyes of a child. We didn’t have to be grown ups that day, and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. I can’t wait to show you all some of the other pictures that were taken during the session. It’s going to take me a while to post them all with training starting up soon (and I’m still not done with the revisiting the past posts yet either…and I have a bunch of other stuff to post…man, I’m so behind…), but I will get them all posted as soon as I can. I promise! But for now, I’m going to curl up in my bed and fall asleep to the sounds of my “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream” playlist on my iPod and enjoy the wonderful air-conditioned environment that I have lacked for the past week. I bid you all adieu, good night, and the sweetest of dreams that only true children at heart can reach…

Leave a Reply

