Eyes of a Child Look #5: Emma

Hey! It’s Friday! And I’m excited because I get a long weekend off from rehearsal! Sadly, it is the last long weekend I will have until after the show ends its run in late October. Oh, the things I do for theatre. But nevermind that. You all came here to see some photography, and I have just that for you in yet another look at my most recent photo shoot from last month (and oh my goodness, I feel like I am dying because I haven’t done photography in a month). Today we get into some of my favorite images of Emma:

“Fairy tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

– G.K. Chesterton

I think that Emma’s photos turned into this classic fairy tale inspiration with an eery twist. Take the above photo for example. I like it for various reasons: Emma brought along a stack of her favorite books, each one transporting her into a completely different fictional world with strongly developed characters and great adventures. She also carried her Harry Potter wand, a peacock feather, and a rose. Each item holds a sort of fairy tale/fictional inspiration to it. But then I got fancy and decided to make an otherwise sweet image look ridiculously spooky (Halloween is coming soon after all). The trees look ominous in the background, and the paths that can be taken are each very different from each other. And I love that. Do you take the concrete path, the rocky trench through the woods, or the grassy plain? Do you know what you’re looking for and how to get there? Oh, the joys of fairy tales…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the part where I point out that sometimes my models really do doubt me and my vision. I bought fairy wings (got them for a dollar at Claire’s. Best surprise sale, ever) and I had already talked with Emma about her outfit of choice, noting that white is a neutral color and will go with everything…including the purple fairy wings that I purchased (since no other colors were available that I liked). Upon arrival, everyone was like, “Um…the wings don’t go with her outfit.” And then I took the two images of Emma that you see above. Two things:

  1. Tell me: when have you ever seen a child with fairy wings actually worry about matching them with anything?
  2. Don’t doubt me. I’m a creative genius. 🙂

I know that the wings in the picture on the left aren’t centered, but I could only do so much with the circulation in Emma’s shoulders being cut off (that may very well have been why, actually). The picture is haunting nonetheless. I also like the picture on the right because of the time I spent isolating the gold butterfly. Emma had brought these beautiful giant butterfly clips (that you’ll see later), so there just had to be something done to drawn attention to them. And like most of her other pictures, this one was eery and wonderful.

And then there are my favorite pictures of her. First, see the giant butterflies I was talking about? But even more, I had a hard time deciding how I wanted to edit these. There is something so magical about Emma and these props (even without the fairy wings). I feel as if she is some sort of woodland creature who dwells in the forest and becomes one with nature.

Emma’s eyes are just downright amazing! She has a natural beauty and childlike spirit that was so perfect for this photo session. I think I’m just in love with the level of creativity that we invested in this particular theme. It’s something that I would definitely do again on an even larger scale.

Alright. I suppose I should call this post quits. I must find food and go to my second job in the scene shop (we’ve got to get this set built for Alice) and go to class and then what? Probably sleep. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

