The Melting Pot (A Lesson in Concert Photography)

Whaddup! How’s it going? In my attempts to get back in the habit of blogging, I figured I’d post some photos from my time spent at home over winter break. Finally, here are the remnants of my adventures in concert photography. I present to you The Melting Pot:

I would like to start off by saying that despite the limitations of concert photography, I am extremely pleased with the following images:

MP 1

Like the image above. This was purely an experiment, and a rather good one if I do say so myself. I’ve always been intrigued by concert photography. I feel as if bands are absolutely exciting. And though I typically see myself as more of your alternative band photographer, I think that this small gig was a great way to test the waters with this intriguing sub-genre of photography.

MP 2

The shoot certainly provided its limitations: poor lighting (I am a sucker for natural light), cramped space, music stands everywhere, etc. But I think that even those limitations pose a threat to even the best of photographers. If anything, those very challenges are exactly what help to make artists better because they teach the art of spontaneity, like in the photo above. It’s probably one of my favorites from the concert because of how candid it is. And in general, that’s what I find so intriguing about concert photography: it’s absolutely spontaneous. You never know exactly what you’re going to get because you can’t plan your shots. You often have to wait for the lighting to work in your favor (assuming there is a light show set up) and pray that you produce a worthy shot. But the thing about these photos is that this leads to very candid and surprisingly spectacular images that show the authenticity of the musicians. It’s about living in the moment.

MP 3

MP 4

One of the most rewarding aspects of this style of photography is seeing the level of joy that these musicians have for what they are doing. The faces they make, the effort they put into playing their instruments, all of it is evidence for why they love what they do which, in turn, encourages me to continue to do what I love which is capturing great moments on camera.

MP 5

Because in the end, who doesn’t love to kick back and have a little jam session? The best works of art, whether music or dance or painting or any other artistic forum, come from loving what you do. For The Melting Pot, it’s about spending time with old friends strumming a guitar, owning that saxophone solo, and belting out the words to your favorite 70s classic. For me, it’s laying on the ground with a camera in my hand snapping pictures of people genuinely enjoying what they do. It’s what we call pure perfection, and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

