Majestic Flying (Spring Break Part 1)

Good (early) morning to you all. Long time no write. I have been a lovely combination of sick and busy over the past two weeks. The week right before spring break, I felt like I was dying. I finally got the flu for the first time ever in my life, and let me tell you, having a seizure and passing out in the shower was not my idea of a grand time. But then everything seemed to magically get better last week when I not only received news of my acceptance into grad school (The University of Hawaii no less) and an internship opportunity with the Nashville Children’s Theatre, but I also had the most epic spring break ever going to Florida to visit a friend, living out my magical dreams at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, and meeting Sir Patrick Stewart and James/Oliver Phelps (Fred/George Weasley) at Megacon. Like I said, I’ve been busy. And I have some beautiful pictures to share with you because it just wouldn’t have been a perfect trip without a little photography:

Morning Clouds

Let’s start with this one. This is the view from my window on the day I flew to Florida. This is actually on my way to Atlanta (since I had to make a connecting flight), and this is what it looks like being above the city of Nashville on a beautiful day. I’ve only flown once before in my life, way back in 8th grade when I went on my class trip to Boston. In general, I am not a huge fan of heights. It’s a strange little paradox, hating heights but finding them thrilling. I love roller coasters and such. I’m not quite sure how that works out. But I always get a fluttering feeling in the pit of my stomach when I start to go up too high, so you can imagine the feeling I got being 10,000 feet in the air.

But flying in planes is actually safer than driving in cars, and there’s just something about flying up above the clouds that causes one to be so serene. For the most part, we didn’t experience much turbulence on any of my flights, and I think that certainly helped, but even if we had, I had these big fluffy clouds to comfort me. Science tells us how clouds work, how they form and all, but my daydreamer-self chose to imagine a world where I could walk on those clouds. I always get the urge to reach out and touch them, and I would if I could. Blue skies and white clouds…flying over places that I’ve only seen from the ground. Our planet is truly a beautiful place.

Florida Sunrise

But I think what touched me more was getting to watch the sunrise on my way back to Nashville. My flight from Florida left at an early 7 a.m. (for which I woke up at 5 a.m. to ensure I made it…no college student should ever have to do that), and upon arriving to the airport, it was still dark outside. But as I boarded the plane and sat down in my window seat (which I had on all of my flights), I noticed the sky beginning to change colors. Light pinks, deep oranges, soft blues…it was as if my very plane was in charge of pulling the sunrise sheet across the sky like a painting for the world to see. Truthfully, I think it was the first sunrise I’ve sincerely watched. But even this picture pales in comparison to the photo below:

Majestic Flying

This is my pride and joy (I’d also like to point out that this was taken with my iPod). As the sun continued to rise, it broke through the clouds, right in front of my eyes. To spend my last few moments in Florida watching this was one of the highlights of my trip, even better than getting a replica of Sirius Black’s wand or frolicking in the Atlantic Ocean (and to say that this was better than getting a wand means a lot…). The sun almost looks like an erupting volcano (actually, the more I look at it, the more the sun looks like an atomic bomb exploding). When I showed this photo to my family, they were all silenced and humbled by it. You don’t see this everyday, not from the sky.

Despite the short bout of anxiety I felt every time I took off (save for on my final flight from Atlanta to Nashville since I was distracted by reading Game of Thrones), seeing the sky and just being up in a place where I rarely ever get to go…it was marvelous. The clouds, the colors, everything. It’s strange because even when it’s raining, it’s actually sunny and blue above the clouds. Descending into gray was sad, but to have been above that…it truly took my breath away.

Well, I’m going to head off to bed now. Stay tuned for part two of my spring break trip when I show off some beach shots. Until then, have a great day, and maybe you, too, can enjoy a sunrise soon. Night!

Leave a Reply

