Monochrome Monday #57

Hello, all. Hope you didn’t think I had forgotten about posting a new Monochrome Monday. I’ve been busy, but I wanted to end this day with a very special MM. Today was a big day for 2 reasons:

  1. Today marked the start of the last week of classes of my undergraduate career.
  2. I got my cap and gown.

Tassel Hassle

There’s my tassel. This is something I have been working so hard for. Four years later and I can say that I am, indeed, about to accomplish a feat that I never dreamed would actually happen. I think that at first it was all just excitement. I was thrilled to get the email saying that our attire was in. And there was a level of thankfulness, too, because some major donor to the school set up a fund a while ago to ensure that every graduating senior has a cap and gown, so none of us have to pay for this.

But the really important thing, and honestly the best thing, is the text I received from my surrogate mother. I sent her a picture of me trying on my cap and gown, and she text me back saying she was excited and that she was making the picture the screensaver on her phone. Of course, I thought that was a terrible idea because I’m self-conscious and wanted her to wait until the actual day when I will look legitimate with my dress and hair and all. This is what she told me:

Too late. Besides, seeing you with that big smile on your face makes me happy.

And I couldn’t be any happier to know that something I have worked so hard for is truly cherished by someone who has been with me every step of the way. Holding that tassel in my hand and seeing that shiny ‘2013’ reminds me that I have come a long way. And in 13 days, I will have a diploma to show that I never gave up. But for now, I’ll just admire my tassel and remember that I have the best support system in the world.

2013 is going to be a good year. I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

