Monochrome Monday #62

I’m back! Sorry for the extended absence. My days are pretty much run by my internship at the children’s theatre, waking up early, being attacked by children, coming home and trying to relax as much as possible…and when I’m not doing that, I’m usually out with friends trying to spend as much time together as possible before we go our separate ways to start our post-graduate plans. But I am here right now to make up the lost time with a brand new Monochrome Monday:

Hollywood

Aw, it feels so good to have a photo to talk about. Do you guys remember my friend Brandy? I love this photo of her. I don’t even know where to begin with all the things I love. But I suppose I’ll just start from the beginning.

This photo was taken a few months ago at our spring Alpha Psi Omega (aka: theatre honorary society) banquet. The banquet was red carpet themed, so everyone in attendance broke out their best award show attire to walk our makeshift red carpet and enjoy the company of our beloved theatre one last time before graduation/summer vacation. Brandy got all dolled up in one of her old pageant dresses that her mom sent her, and it was worth it.

I had first gotten the idea to take pictures in the dressing rooms with its fancy makeup lights while I was watching my friend Terry get into his drag persona. I took a mirror/reflection shot, loved it and the lighting, and it was all downhill from there (in a good way). When Brandy arrived, curled hair and all, I immediately took to being a member of the paparazzi and snapped photos whenever things just felt right, and I’m glad I did because this photo, entitled Hollywood, showed the preparation process.

You can see a bit of Brandy’s reflection as she sits on the table, but the thrill of the photo comes from the intensity with which she is fixing herself as she looks in her hand mirror. I love the Hollywood nostalgia of her pearl necklace and bracelet, the curved silver or her rose ring, the sparkles of her dress…everything is so perfect and flawless about Brandy’s appearance. I just love how 50’s queen it all feels.

Honestly, I am feeling extremely withdrawn from photography, and it makes me sad. I want to be able to get back to taking and editing photos. I have so much material to show and not enough time to just sit and post it. Maybe I’ll do something special for next week since I’ll be on vacation. I do know that I can’t wait to get to the islands in August so that I can take all sorts of amazing photos of life there. Sunshine everywhere, crystal waters…I think my photography skills will only improve, and I couldn’t ask for anything better. But now I must bid you adieu. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

