Monochrome Monday #63

Oh snap! Look who’s here with a brand new Monochrome Monday?! About time, right? Well, I finally got a chance to go out and do a little photography. Living in Hawai’i has opened doors to a whole new world of picture-taking, but most of my time is spent on-campus in class, so any real chance I get to go out and explore is limited specifically to the weekend, and even then, for the past month, I was stuck spending that free time at the theatre. But not this past weekend. No, I got the chance to do something extreme (and by extreme, I really mean painful). And so I present to you the first official Monochrome Monday from Honolulu:Float

Before moving to the Pacific, I purchased a new Nikon point-and-shoot. My poor little Sanyo bit the sand back in Florida over spring break, and since I was moving to a place surrounded by sand and surf, I figured that it would be in my best interest to purchase a waterproof camera. I finally got the chance to really try it out over the weekend when I went on a trip to the Makapu’u tide pools on the east side of the island of O’ahu. I joined my roommate and a few other residents in our on-campus apartment complex on this RA sponsored trip, and let me tell you…I will never complete that kind of trip again. But it was worth it, and you can read about the excursion soon on my other blog Adventures in Aloha (end of shameless plug).

Anyway. The tide pools were amazing. Filled with a variety of sea life and constantly being replenished by new waves from the ocean, the Makapu’u tide pools are a nice little treasure for those seeking an off-road adventure (and trust me, you can’t get much more off-road than scaling the side of a cliff of volcanic rock). So what about this picture? That’s one of my roommates. I talked her into coming along (it really didn’t take much convincing), and though she was bent on making me the subject of photos, I managed to escape such an idea. I chose, instead, to make my return to the world of photography while in the water. My roommate enjoyed floating about the green-blue waters, and I couldn’t help but to snap a few shots of her being the precious little peaceful being that she is.

Life here in Hawai’i is so chill. Everything is calm and so laid back. The sense of adventure is amazing, even when that adventure leads to painful immobility and fatigue. I love the above photo for that very reason. Everything was so peaceful (after, you know, climbing down the cliff and getting settled in the tide pool/before climbing back up the cliff and not being able to put on a tank top without wincing). And in some ways, this photo is haunting (probably because she’s floating…and looks a little dead…).

But there you have it. There are more photos on their way. I really do promise I haven’t forgotten about this blog. I just have to find the time to post everything. When you have multiple reading and writing assignments to do every night, it’s hard to find the time to just sit and post. But I’m figuring it out. Thanks for being so patient. Until next time, aloha!

Leave a Reply

