Summertime Sadness: More Photos from Makapu’u

I’m not really sad, I’m just listening to Lana Del Rey’s “Summertime Sadness” (which is such a perfect soundtrack when reading this post).

But anyway.

I’ve finally regained normal feeling in my body. It took almost a week, but it’s nice to be able to move without wincing in pain. As you probably recall from this week’s Monochrome Monday, I went on a crazy adventure to the Makapu’u tide pools. While there, I got the chance to take some incredibly fun photos with my new waterproof Nikon. And as usual with me, some of the best photos I take are accidents. Check it out below:Underwater 1

When I say that these were an accident, I mean that this was not how the photos were supposed to turn out. Not in the least. My roommate asked me to take one of those cool mermaid inspired underwater shots of her. A reasonable request, right? Well, it’s definitely easier said than done. Trying to set up the shot (which we never got, by the way) was no easy feat. For starters, my roommate was swimming faster than my camera could react. By the time my camera took the photos, she was either long passed (so I only captured her legs), her face was too close to the camera, or her face would get cut off because she had already begun to resurface. It also probably didn’t help that I wasn’t underwater with her (I have trouble opening my eyes underwater…I wear glasses. My eyes are sensitive).

But there’s beauty even in the biggest photography fails.

Underwater 2

Because why should every photo meet the visions we set for ourselves? Sometimes a picture is perfect in its own right. What I love about these underwater shots are that they are so abstract. They are in a world all of their own. I fantasize a lot about what life would be like if the whimsical, magical books of fiction were real. What if elemental magic was a thing? I would like to think that I would be a water spirit or fairy or something. I’ve always identify with the elements of water and air (I am an Aquarius after all). Both have the powers to destroy and to sustain life. These underwater shots bring me to an amazing undiscovered world with the kind of magic found in books where everyone and everything is special and amazing (end of shameless plug about the importance of literature).

I guess what I’m saying is that there is so much more than meets the eye, especially when a photo doesn’t turn out the way you want it to. Sure, we never did get that perfect shot of my roommate gliding under the water, but these pictures, to me anyway, are hauntingly beautiful (just like Lana Del Rey’s song…to which I am still listening…).

Underwater 3

I think this one is my favorite. I’m not entirely certain why, but it’s the most graceful of them all. It’s calm, less bubbles, less thrashing about. It’s spooky in a way (Halloween is coming, my friends). It’s smooth and easy on the eyes.

Maybe I did get the perfect mermaid shot after all. A rare creature to see in a forbidden realm. A rare sight indeed…

Leave a Reply

