Open Letter to Disney

As most of you know, I run a second blog about my adventures in Honolulu. Last night I wrote an open letter to Disney about their lack of merchandise for their princesses of color. I figured I’d share it with you all, too, just because it’s something I’m passionate about. I’m not expecting anything to happen, but maybe you all have something you truly care about and could use the encouragement. Know that you can make a difference no matter what. 😀

Adventures in Adulthood

Dear Disney,

Hello, my name is Rhonda. I’m not quite sure how open letters work, but I know that they usually come from deep within someone about issues that they deem important. And that is certainly the case for me, a twenty-something African-American female who is an avid fan of your company. I’ve seen so many of your movies (I’m even planning a marathon for the near future in which I watch all of your movies released theatrically), I own many of your products, and that one time I went to Disney World when I was a kid is still my favorite family vacation to date; I can’t wait to finally go back as soon as I get the chance. Disney has been a huge part of my life from watching the Wonderful World of Disney every Saturday/Sunday night during the summer to growing up and evolving with the shows…

View original post 1,673 more words

Leave a Reply

