Golden Hour and Sunset

Good evening/early morning. I realize there was no Monochrome Monday yesterday. I thought I could have gotten it taken care of, but my first adventure of the break sent me on a wild goose chase for the post office which ate up a lot of my time. However, I do have some lovely images from my evening trip to the beach to make up for it:

For starters, I should point out how thrilled I was to take pictures during golden hour.

Golden Hour 1

Golden hour (noun): the first and last hour of sunlight during the day when a specific photographic effect is achieved due to the quality of the light (Wikipedia). 

I think I usually find myself out and about when golden hour takes place (in the afternoon, that is), but I’m never armed with my camera when it happens. So to be out when this lovely light was up for the world to see was something special.

Golden Hour 2

There’s just something about spending winter in a place that doesn’t actually have a winter. I wore my bathing suit and Spiderman tank top all day because it was 75 degrees outside. Now I’m watching cartoons all about Christmas, and it’s snowing in every episode, and I’m just like, “The sun is shining and I’m wearing shorts.” But this type of thing makes for fun photography (though I miss shooting in the snow).

Sunset 1

I love the beach. I love sunsets. I just love it all. It was so calming to just be by the ocean and watch the sun set. It was refreshing.

I’m going to keep it short. It’s already after one in the morning and all I want to do is curl up in a ball and fall asleep (man, I’m turning into an old lady). I think I’ll let these photos speak for themselves. They’re doing a grand job in my opinion.

I’m off to watch the Charlie Brown Christmas Special. Happy holidays! Enjoy golden hour!

Leave a Reply

