Happy New Year!

Well hello there, and welcome to 2014! My, how far we’ve come since I started this blog back in spring of 2011. It seems like just yesterday that I developed my love of photography. But here we are almost three years later, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the things I get to discover with my cameras. I know I didn’t post a Monochrome Monday again this week. For someone with three weeks off to just enjoy life, I haven’t done much. Which is sad because this island is far to big and beautiful for me not to find stuff to photograph. But worry not, that should all change by the end of this week. To tide you over until I get my life together, I have a few images from my New Year’s Eve adventure:

I attended Honolulu’s New Year’s Eve Party of the Year. In a mildly pathetic fashion, I went to this event solo since pretty much all the friends I have here in Honolulu went home for the break leaving me here to fend for myself. But anyway. I decided that I wanted to do something fun for the New Year, so I used the almighty Groupon to get a discount for the concert portion of the event and made my way to a new part of the island I had yet to explore. I was successful in finding my way and was rewarded with this:

Ferris Wheel 1

For the first time in my life, I rode a Ferris wheel. Yes, I realize this is small in comparison to other wheels (even the one at the Tennessee State Fair is bigger, but so is the one at the Hawaiian State Fair, too), but it’s still a carnival ride and I have always been intrigued by photos of carnival rides. There’s something so majestically eery about them, and I finally got the chance to kill two birds with one stone. Taking pictures of this LED spinning wheel of metal was fun, and riding it was even cooler.

DSCN8670

I’m not sure when my fascination with carnival rides started. Actually, retract that statement. I do. A former classmate of mine from high school (whom I occasionally Facebook stalk because her pictures are always really pretty and artistic – don’t judge) had this really cool picture taken of her on one of those big swing rides at the TN State Fair. It was in black-and-white, and though you could only see the back of her, you could tell she was having a grand time with her arms out stretched as she was spun around in her swing. I loved that picture and have been in love with carnival photography ever since. I want to replicate that photo one day (and not just for my own personal profile picture…), but until then, a Ferris wheel will suffice.

DSCN8706

Of course, no New Year’s event is complete without fireworks. At the Party of the Year, they started shooting off fireworks every hour starting at 9 pm. I was still there at the time they began, so I tested out the fireworks setting on my newest Nikon (the waterproof one). I’d say it turned out pretty well, wouldn’t you? I left long before their big fireworks display at midnight, but the entire island of O’ahu lit up at midnight, so I saw several different displays from my apartment complex. If I’m still on the island for Independence Day, well, expect more fireworks photography.

With a new year comes new year’s resolutions. I usually don’t make any knowing that I probably won’t keep them, but I figured that the one resolution I want to make this year is one I think will be pretty easy. This year, I want to practice my photography even more than last year. I was off my game in 2013, mostly because I was busy with graduation and my internship and transitioning to life in Hawai’i. But now that those big moments have passed and become just normal life for me, I want to spend more time behind (and possibly in front of) my camera to provide new material for you all. I also want to catch up on everything else I’ve been meaning to post for months. And if it takes me all year, then I guess that’s ok. I just love taking pictures.

So here’s to the new year and new photography. I hope it’s everything you dream it will be and more.

Leave a Reply

