Monochrome Monday #71

Aw, photography blog. We meet again. Long time no see, friends. I know. It’s like I disappeared and left you all with nothing to tide you over. No hope, no love. Nothing. And I am so sorry for that. Truthfully, it has been much easier posting on my Hawaiian adventures blog since I always have thoughts going on in my head and wild, senseless rantings to post. But photography has been continually placed on the back burner which sucks because there is so much beauty here, and I feel like I’m doing a disservice to myself, my rusting skills, and you all as my readers by not getting out and making photographic magic. In those regards, I’m sorry that I have failed you all. So I decided to pull a throw back with today’s Monochrome Monday. It’s an old photo, but it’s a good one (I hope):

Female Empowerment

You know, it’s been a while since I’ve talked to Charli. And though it’s been ages since we’ve seen each other (oh gosh, two years now that I think about it), Charli was still a worthwhile model. I think the above photo can explain why. To think that this picture is from 2010 is crazy (to think I’ve been allowed to hold a camera in my hand and call myself some variation of the word “artist” for over four years is even crazier). I remember this shoot like it was yesterday. There was a music theme. We started off at Centennial Park and made our way to the Greenway. That was a good day. So many good photographs came out of it.

I remember Charli being a breakout model. Someone who took direction well but also had her own vision. Someone who was so natural in front of the lens as if the camera wasn’t even there, just caught being herself. I have always loved that about some of my models. Some of them like the idea of being in front of a camera but freeze up in uncertainty. And the photos that stem from those feelings of unknowing are wonderful. And then there are those that are much more comfortable with a hunk of metal in their face, and they run with the ideas like there’s no tomorrow. And those photos turn out swell, too. What I’ve always loved about this picture is just how glamorous Charli looks. Kind of regal, kind of like a total Betty. I absolutely adore it. I wish I could look that naturally flawless in my photos.

I miss taking these kinds of photos. I miss these kinds of photo shoots. I haven’t had a legitimate themed shoot since summer 2012. And though there are all kinds of ideas being thrown around, it’s going to be a while before I’m reunited with my regulars. And I would do something here, but my would-be models always seem to have something come up right at the last minute. Or the sky starts crying uncontrollably with its massive flooding tears. But I’ll get back into the swing of photography soon. It’s something I couldn’t imagine not having in my life. I’m still always looking for inspiration, so don’t worry. You haven’t seen the last of me yet. And when I’m fully back in the zone, the world of photography won’t even know what hit it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ivyon
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 00:51:11

    Hi! I’m so sorry that I cut in like this but can you tell me how can I follow new posts from your friend that you recommended (Damned to be a Damsel)? Thank you πŸ˜€

    Also, I love the featured photos, especially the one with balloons. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Rhonda13
      Jan 21, 2014 @ 04:25:28

      Hi ivyon. Since Damned to be a Damsel is hosted by Blogspot, you will have to sign in through Google (assuming you have an account linked with Google or any of its affiliates like YouTube or gmail). If you don’t have an account on Google, you scroll all the way down to the very bottom of her page; there you will see a link that says “Subscribe To: Posts (Atom)” which you can click and follow her blog via an RSS Feed. Hope that helps!

      And thank you. Working with balloons was one of my favorite photo sessions! :]

      Reply

      • ivyon
        Jan 21, 2014 @ 07:22:57

        Thank you very much for information πŸ™‚ You can suggest her that she moves to WordPress πŸ˜‰ hehe

        p.s. I am 25yo and I loooove ballons πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

