Monochrome Monday #74

It’s Monday, but it doesn’t feel like it. It could be because of how ridiculously tired I am. I know I’m always like, “children’s theatre is what I want to do with my life,” but then I wake up at 6 am to be at the theatre by 7 am for a 9 am school show, and I regret everything (or rather, I regret staying up until 2 am watching Happy Feet). There has been a performance everyday since this past Thursday, not to mention the week of tech/dress rehearsals right before it. And if I’m tired, I can only imagine how exhausted the actors must be. But I digress. I’m here to (finally) post a new Monochrome Monday which just so happens to be another photo from my recent session with my friend Taylor:

Chastity

I lovingly poked fun at Taylor after taking this picture because it’s just so chaste. I told her that she looked like she was praying and that she was being a good Catholic. But terrible jokes aside, I still find this photo to be a nice one. It’s a weird composition what with Taylor being mostly in the shade, but her hands are in the light. It certainly wasn’t on purpose, poor planning on my part really, yet it seems to give the photo a sort of holy look to it. The dress only accentuates the angelic nature of the photo. The pose, the serene expression on Taylor’s face…

It’s kind of how I wish my life felt right now. Calm, I mean. With about a month left of school, I am faced with a sense of urgency to finish everything for class while hurrying up and waiting to fly back to the mainland and start my summer job. I’m sure Taylor probably feels the same way about getting things done, but in this photo, she’s just so relaxed. I want to feel relaxed, but I’ve still got a whole week left of performances, my teaching internship for this semester still hasn’t started yet (the struggle has been way too real), I have multiple presentations to put together, I have to register for classes next week, and homework is that one, ever-present and annoying enemy lurking in the background. A break is pretty much nonexistent considering that I go straight from school right into my job as a camp counselor (ok, I get 5 days of down time which will probably be spent sleeping). But in the midst of the craziness, I think about how much experience I’m gaining and skills I’m building.

And I guess that alone, like this photo, is calming enough.

Leave a Reply

