Summer Photography Season

Well, hello there. Long time no write. I didn’t intend to be away for so long, but the ending of the school year was crazy and getting ready to return to the mainland was crazier. Speaking of which, I am posting this from the fabulous city of Nashville! That’s right; I am home! Well, for the summer that is. And I’m staying busy working nine hours a day as a camp counselor. My life is always moving, but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been thinking about my love of photography. In fact, I’ve got some updates to share with you all:

I promise I haven’t forgotten about my craft and sharing the finished products with everyone. It always makes me sad when I grow too busy and tired to just step outside with my camera. But it’s summer, one of my favorite seasons of the year, and that means more opportunities to do fun things like:

  1. Build my portfolio – Welcome to my 20s where I’m trying to figure out this whole “adulthood” thing. Though theatre and teaching and working with kids has already proven to be a good look for me, I think it’s good to have a secondary craft to fall back on. The way I see it, I love photography, and I know I’ve begun building quite the following amongst friends and family. This, in turn, leads to referrals to others. I mean, I’ve already been referred to a friend of a friend who needs a photographer for her wedding and I’ve been drafted to shoot for the retro jazz band The Melting Pot once again. It’s little things like that, connections with others (as much as I feel like it’s kind of using people to get ahead in life…which I hate), that can help me in the long run. I figure that photography can be for me like baking cakes is for my aunt. It’s a means to make a little extra money to help pay the bills or to set aside in savings. So this summer I’m planning a few little things here and there to boost my portfolio. And the benefits are great. I not only get practice so I can hone my craft, but I also get to book new clients and eventually, I can take it in to a company and possibly secure a secondary gig. I suppose you can call it “getting serious about photography,” but I really just see it as “doing and getting better at what I love.”
  2. Practice – I’ve touched on it a little, but I’m a little rusty. I don’t think I’m too bad, though, because what little photography I have done in the past few months has still been pretty decent given where I began five or so years ago. The great thing about summer (the parts of it that aren’t being consumed by spending hours on end with dozens of energetic children) is that I have the free time to just try new things. It’s been a while since I’ve sat down and searched for great photographic inspiration, but me and Pinterest are about to have a field day creating a photography inspiration board to get my artistic juices flowing again.
  3. Enact my greatest photo shoot theme to date – Only I can’t tell you what it is just yet. I’m still hammering out some of the details, but the concept I have developed so far is a fun one and a little more tame in nature than some of my previous themes. At the same time, it’s wild and able to be interpreted in so many ways. Needless to say, I’m kind of really excited about it. And this will, hopefully, mark an excellent reunion with some of my old models (assuming I can even get them in the same place at the same time). I think this will be something good, and once the details are ironed out, I will share it with all you lovely readers.

This summer will be a good one for my photography. I may not have a lot of spare time, but I will certainly try to weasel in as much photography as I can. And just to prove how devoted I am, here’s a picture of the sunrise on my flight to Seattle as I headed back home earlier this month:

Good Morning Seattle

Please forgive the awkward specks of dirt on the window of the airplane.

Summer is here, and I can’t wait to make magic happen!

Leave a Reply

