Great Expectations

Well well well. Long time no post. It has been quite the busy summer for me. Working with children was exhausting but totally rewarding. Trying to see as many of my friends as possible while in town was challenging but worth spending time with those I did get to see. Experiencing the beginnings of a potential quarter-life crisis was unwanted…still is, actually. Anyway, I return to my ever-far-away island in just a matter of days. Today was laundry day #1 because I should probably consider packing rather than waiting until the absolute last possible minute. But because I sprained my ankle pretty badly at work last week, I am having a hard time maneuvering large baskets of clothing up and down the stairs to the washer and outside to our clothes line. So I’ve called it a day after finishing two out of three loads. In the mean time, as I ice my ankle, I figured I’d update the world on some of the photography I’ve managed to squeeze in this summer:

For those of you who don’t know, my best friend is expecting her first child this fall. In such an excitingly stressful time, I have gotten to watch as my best friend navigates through the early joys and woes of parenthood. And because I’m not going to be in town when the baby is born, I’ve taken it upon myself – as best friends are prone to do – to ensure that this child is spoiled (showered) with all the love a mother’s best friend can muster. This, of course, means using my exceptional baby shopping abilities (I bought him the most adorable Mike Wazowski [of Monsters Inc. fame] onesie) and, more importantly, my photography skills to my advantage. I’m in the middle of crafting some other fun surprises that I can’t reveal just yet, but I did have the opportunity to do some really simple maternity photos for my best friend yesterday.

Maternity 1

Our first task of the day was getting some simple props. So we ventured to Party City to get an awesome bouquet of balloons. I’ve officially decided that I want to do a photo shoot with the jumbo Orbz balloons they sell at Party City. But moving on. We also picked up some bubbles, a button to pin on the mommy-to-be, and blocks.

Maternity 2

We then made our way to the beautiful Centennial Park to take some photos. The great thing about Centennial is that there’s so many places for shooting from the lake to the botanical garden. And if I didn’t have a bum ankle and Skye (my best friend) didn’t have a growing belly, we probably would have walked a little farther to the Parthenon.

Maternity 3

Maternity 4

I’m sure this entire experience has been a learning experience for Skye and her husband. And there is still plenty for them to learn over the course of the next 18 years, even after that. Once you become a parent, you never stop being one. But just as much as they have been learning and growing as a family, I’ve been learning from this experience, too.

Remember how I mentioned starting a quarter-life crisis? Well, this is part of it. When your best friend is pregnant for the first time, the first out of your main group of friends to get married and really settle down to start a family, it affects you. And at first, I thought I was being extremely selfish and ridiculous for feeling so uneasy about it all. Despite the immense amount of happiness I feel for my best friend for, thus far, successfully procreating and (hopefully) being happy about it, I’m also completely confused about how this affects our friendship. What is my place in her life now? What role do I play in her unborn child’s life? I’ve learned that it’s not uncommon to feel upset about the changes occurring in our friendship. It was inevitable and the feelings I’m experiencing as the single, childless one in the relationship are both natural and, frankly, irrelevant. Because it’s not about me. It’s about her and her family. And that’s scary and difficult to wrap my mind around, but it’s a lesson I’m learning a little bit more about each and every day.

It’s perfectly alright for me to have zero idea what is happening, or at least I think it’s ok. I hope it’s ok. But what I do know is that Skye is going to be a great, loving mom. She has been through so much in her life, but she is such a strong individual. Despite the struggles she is bound to face as a new mom (or just a parent in general), I have no doubt that she will rise above those challenges and embrace the full-time job of raising a human being. I couldn’t be more thrilled for Skye, and no matter how much our friendship changes as she trades hang out sessions with me for nights spent cuddling with her son, I think things will turn out just fine for her and her family. And as her best friend, that’s all I could ever want.

Maternity 5

Leave a Reply

